Join Our NewsletterDonate to LASC
eco angeleno

Partner-Event: The Coalition for Clean Air’s California Air Quality Awards Are Coming!


As an endorsing organization, the Los Angeles Sustainability Collaborative invites you to attend the California Air Quality Awards on May 13.

For the 25th year, the Coalition for Clean Air is proud to present their highest honors to California’s clean air champions. Each year at this signature gala event they salute the individuals, organizations, and companies making outstanding contributions to California’s clean air future. On May 13th, at the California Air Quality Awards luncheon, leaders from government, business and citizen advocacy will again share the stage to receive thanks before an enthusiastic audience of hundreds of their peers.

This year, honorees will include three “Queens of EV:” valiant women who are leading the way to a clean car revolution on California’s roads.

Christine Kehoe, Executive Director of the California Electric Plug-In Vehicle Collaborative (PEVC) served in the California legislature for twelve years, chairing the Senate Committee on Energy, Utilities and Communications for four years.

Janea A. Scott, appointed by Governor Brown in 2013 to be the Public Member of the California Energy Commission, specializing in transportation, she chairs the PEVC board of directors.

Eileen Wenger Tutt, Executive Director of the California Electric Transportation Coalition also has a history of exceptional public service, both in the legislature and as Deputy Director of the California EPA.

Ever since the Coalition for Clean Air took a leadership role in getting the first-in-the-nation SmogCheck™ program established in 1981, clean transportation has been a top priority. This year’s Air Quality Awards come at an exciting time for the Zero Emission Vehicle movement: California has committed to putting one million electric cars on the road in the next decade, and there are many options for transforming infrastructure and freight transport that are now within our state’s reach as well. The “winning hand” of honorees will be at the forefront of those changes.

Other honorees this year will be Dr. William Burke, Chairman of the Governing Board of the South Coast Air Quality Management District. As chair, he has set in motion a decade-long series of policy initiatives, including the district’s evolving Environmental Justice program, Asthma and Outdoor Air Quality Consortium, Brain and Lung Tumor and Air Pollution Foundation, and in 2009 a “Helping Hand Initiative” to protect both health and jobs during the economic downturn.

The sustainable business award will go to Cummins Westport, Inc., maker of high performance natural gas engines for buses and trucks. The company produced its first natural gas heavy-duty engine in 1991 and has continued to develop clean, leading-edge natural gas engine technology. Notably, Cummins engines met enhanced emissions standards in advance of regulated deadlines.

Last year’s event was hosted by longtime board member Ed Begley, Jr. and KCET Vice President of News and Public Affairs Val Zavala. This year’s MCs will be announced shortly. We guarantee it will be an informative and engaging afternoon! And it’s a great opportunity to show your support for our goal of clean, healthy air for all Californians. Please join us.


The 2016 Air Quality Awards luncheon will take place on

Friday, May 13th, from 12:30 – 2:30 pm

The Center at Cathedral Plaza

555 W Temple Street

Los Angeles, CA 90012